​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Message from the Sheriff​​​​​

Sheriff Ron Hain

Ron Hain, Sheriff of Kane County
630-208-2000 Office​

Ron has served in law enforcement for 28 years and has been credited with hundreds of major criminal arrests. Ron has worked in varying capacities, including narcotics officer, canine handler, SWAT Team Leader, and developed, implemented, and supervised the Sheriff's Office Criminal Interdiction Team. In addition, Ron is a nationally recognized expert in interstate criminal and terrorist interdiction. 

Ron Hain has received five meritorious service awards and two Deputy of the Year awards for several successful major criminal investigations. He was also twice nominated for the Kane County Officer of the Year Award. Ron also received the nationally-presented "Relentless Award" in 2013 for his work in criminal interdiction. In his career, Ron Hain has seized over 4,000 lbs. of dangerous drugs and over $3,000,000 in illicit currency, along with hundreds of illegally possessed firearms associated with those crimes.

Ron was elected as Kane County Sheriff in November of 2018, and his team immediately implemented employment diversion programs in the jail, along with medically assisted treatment to support and redirect inmates with drug addiction issues. Sheriff Hain's focus is to take a zero-tolerance approach to street crime while providing positive life paths for incarcerated Kane County residents in an effort to drive down recidivism and crime rates. As a result, after over three years of work and close data collection, Kane County has seen a reduction of returning citizen opioid overdose deaths by 89%, recidivism reduction from 49% to 18%, reduction of jail violence by 35%, a decrease in countywide crime of 16%, and overall savings to taxpayers of 4.9 million dollars.

Additional roles:

• Chairman of the Illinois State TRIAD Association

• Chairman of the Kane County DUI Task Force

• Marie Wilkinson Food Pantry Board of Directors

• Juvenile Justice Council Board of Directors

• Kane County CASA Board of Directors